To become a medical marijuana patient in Nevada you must reside in the state and see a licensed osteopath to get a medical cannabis recommendation for one of the following chronic conditions:
Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Cachexia – wasting associated with chronic disease
The state charges a $25.00 fee to request an application packet and a $75.00 fee to apply. Some Nevada osteopaths will conduct an exam and endorse and process your state paperwork for a single fee. Fees vary.
An individual with a doctor recommendation, internet access, computer, printer and scanner, can apply online, and the online application and renewal portal is back in operation.
Out of state patients:
Valid medical cannabis card-holders from the following states can purchase medicine in Nevada dispensaries with ID:
AK,AR, AZ,CA,CO,CN, DC, DE, FL, HI,IL,ME,MD,MA, MI, MN, MT, ND, NH, NJ, NY, NM, OH, OR, PA, RI, VT,WA.
You can read Nevada’s entire medical marijuana law, or here are a few key provisions for patients and visiting patients:
Public use of cannabis is illegal anywhere in Nevada, especially on federal land. Please be a positive cannabis ambassador.
How much cannabis can I legally possess?
Do not, at any one time, collectively possess with another who is authorized to possess, deliver or produce more than 2 1/2 ounces of usable marijuana in any 14-day period. Cannabis and cannabis products must be purchased through a licensed Nevada dispensary.
Can I grow my own?
Yes, but with conditions:
Nevada law (SB 447) currently allows patients to home cultivate if they fall into one or more of the following categories:
- The dispensaries in your county closed or are unable to supply the quantity or strain of marijuana that you need
- You and, if you have one, your caregiver are “unable reasonably to travel” to a dispensary due to illness or lack of transportation
- No dispensary was operating within 25 miles of the patient’s home when they first applied for their card
A primary caregiver is a person who manages the well-being of a person diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition. A caregiver must be 18 years of age or older. Patients may only have one designated primary caregiver. Caregivers apply using the same form as patients.